Spedding in the frame for debut

Jake Spedding
Jake Spedding
Share this article

Jake Spedding could be in line to make his first senior appearance for Saints in their showdown with neighbours Warrington Wolves at the Halliwell-Jones Stadium on Friday night.

The 19-year-old winger or centre is named in coach Keiron Cunningham’s 19-man squad and possesses the kind of pace which Saints have been lacking since losing Adam Swift, Tommy Makinson and Mark Percival to injury.

Jack Ashworth is also called up to the squad which at the same time will be missing Joe Greenwood, Dominique Peyroux, Atelea Vea and Lama Tasi, as well as long-term absentee Jonny Lomax through injuries.

Saints had originally expected the versatile Lomax to be back in action sometime during March but progress has been a little slower than expected and it is a case of assessing the situation on a weekly basis.

Cunningham said:“We were hoping he’d be fit by now but things took a turn for the worst.

“We’ll just play it week by week. There are other issues with Jonny that isn’t regarding his knee.

“I’d love the kid to be running around in a Saints’ shirt. He’d certainly help us out at this moment in time, but we can’t force the issue, It’s a case of being patient with him, even though I’m desperate for him to be back.”

Of Friday’s clash with the Super League table-toppers, Cunningham said: “It’s a derby which always produces fireworks and we are looking forward to it.

“We have played Warrington a million times and know exactly what we need to do.

“It does not come any tougher but I suppose I could say the same thing about any fixture this season.”

Skipper Jon Wilkin chipped in: “Warrington are a dangerous side and have made some shrewd signings, including Aussie Kurt Gidley who brings added experience to their squad, and we will have to be at our very best to pick up the points.”

Squads - Saints:

3. Jordan Turner, 6. Travis Burns, 7. Luke Walsh, 8. Alex Walmsley, 9. James Roby, 10. Kyle Amor, 12. Jon Wilkin, 13. Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook, 15. Greg Richards, 16. Andre Savelio, 17. Luke Thompson, 19. Theo Fages , 21. Matty Dawson, 22. Jack Owens, 23. Shannon McDonnell, 27. Jack Ashworth, 28. Morgan Knowles, 29. Ricky Bailey, 33. Jake Spedding.


1. Kurt Gidley, 2. Tom Lineham, 3. Rhys Evans, 4. Ryan Atkins, 5. Matty Russell, 6. Stefan Ratchford, 8. Chris Hill, 9. Daryl Clark, 10. Ashton Sims, 11. Ben Currie, 12. Jack Hughes, 13. Ben Westwood, 14. Joe Westerman, 18. George King, 20. Kevin Penny, 25. Joe Philbin, 26. Declan Patton, 29. Benjamin Jullien, 32. Jordan Cox.

The game kicks off at 8pm and the referee will be Ben Thaler.