Saints 34 Hull FC 22

Saints James Roby scores their first try of the game against Hull FC
Saints James Roby scores their first try of the game against Hull FC

SAINTS hit back from being behind at the break in style to take the points and make it two wins from two in Super League XIX.

Hull got off to a flyer and were on the scoreboard after just two minutes when Micky Paea went over to the left of the sticks, but Ben Crooks missed the conversion.

Saints hit back though when James Roby took a delightful ball off Willie Manu and Luke Walsh converted.

But Hull fought back through Richard Whiting who juggled the ball before touching down for Crooks to convert.

In a tough first half Saints were pegged back by the kicking of Richard Horne and they lacked the intensity of last Thursday at Warrington.

And Mark Percival had a try ruled out for a knock on midway through the half leaving Saints fans’ frustrated.

But it was a different story after the break, Saints taking control and marching on to take the spoils.

First Sia Soliola powered over leaving Luke Walsh a relatively simple conversion to make it 12-10 to Saints.

Tries then for Jonny Lomax and Roby again along with two more conversions put Saints 24-10 up on the hour.

Gareth Ellis pulled one back for Hull, goaled by Crooks but two more tries for Tommy Makinson and Mark Percival gave Hull a mountain to climb.

Walsh goaled one of the tries to give Saints a 34-16 lead but Danny Houghton grabbed a consolation for Hull on the hooter with Crooks goaling to leave the final score 34-22.

The Saints side is: Johnny Lomax, Tommy Makinson, Jordan Turner, Mark Percival, Adam Swift, Gary Wheeler, Luke Walsh, Kyle Amor, James Roby, Alex Walmesley, Jon Wilkin, Willie Manu, Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook. Subs: Josh Jones, Sia Soliola, Anthony Laffranchi, Paul Wellens.

The Hull side is: Jamie Shaul, Tom Lineham, Ben Crooks, Joe Arundel, Fetuli Talanoa, Jordan Rankin, Richard Horne, Mickey Paea, Danny Houghton, Gareth Carvell, Gareth Ellis, Richard Whiting, Joe Westerman. Subs: Jordan Thompson, Josh Bowden, Iafeta Palea’aesina, Aaron Heremaia.