Saints name squad to face Wakefield

Saints coach Keiron Cunningham
Saints coach Keiron Cunningham
Share this article

Beware of the wounded animal! That's the message St Helens head coach Keiron Cunningham will once more be relaying to his players ahead of Friday's Super League clash against crisis-hit Wakefield Trinity Wildcats at Langtree Park.

For the second time in the past few weeks Saints will come face-to-face with a club who have lost their coach - Brian Smith quitting Belle Vue earlier this week after Chris Chester had parted company with Hull KR.

Cunningham said: “It's not often you face a coach-less team once - never mind twice like in our case during a season - but I expect Trinity will also be a different animal because the players will be fighting for their future and eager to impress whoever is in charge.”

Saints have won three of their four First Utility Super League matches to date and currently lie fourth in the table behind Widnes Vikings, Warrington Wolves and Wigan Warriors, who all have eight points, and will be looking to close the gap this weekend as all their rivals have what on paper appears to be tricky-looking fixtures.

Second row/centre Jack Ashworth, 20, is called into the 19-man squad for the first time this season but there is no place for either Travis Burns, who missed the Castleford game due to a one-match ban, or Theo Fages.

Cunningham will select from: 2. Tommy Makinson, 3. Jordan Turner, 5. Adam Swift, 7. Luke Walsh, 8. Alex Walmsley, 9. James Roby, 10. Kyle Amor, 11. Atelea Vea, 12. Jon Wilkin, 13. Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook, 14. Lama Tasi, 15. Greg Richards, 17. Luke Thompson, 18. Dominique Peyroux, 20. Joe Greenwood, 21. Matty Dawson, 23. Shannon McDonnell, 27. Jack Ashworth, 28. Morgan Knowles.

Caretaker coach Stuart Dickens will choose his Wakefield team from: 1. Ben Jones-Bishop, 2. Tom Johnstone, 6. Jacob Miller, 7. Liam Finn, 8. Nick Scruton, 10. Anthony England, 11. Michael Simon, 13. Anthony Tupou, 14. Reece Lyne, 16. Tinirau Arona, 17. Matty Ashurst, 18. Joe Arundel, 19. Jon Molloy, 20. Mikey Sio, 23. Scott Anderson, 24. Stuart Howarth, 25. Craig Hall, 27. Anthony Walker, 31. Jason Walton.

The game kicks off at 8pm and the referee will be Gareth Hewer.