St Helens Academy start season against London Broncos

Saints' Academy have have no fixture in the opening week of the new season, which starts on Friday, May 14, but they will be at home the following weekend to London Broncos.

Monday, 12th April 2021, 9:39 am
Saints' Academy have have no fixture in the opening week of the new season, which starts on Friday, May 14, but they will be at home the following weekend to London Broncos.

The derby fixtures against Wigan Warriors will be played at the DW Stadium on Sunday, May 30, and the return at the Totally Wicked Stadium on Saturday, August 21.

All Saints' Academy home fixtures will be played at the Totally Wicked Stadium and details on the potential of fans attending will be announced in due course.

There will be no formal Academy Championship this season, after an agreement between the RFL and heads of youth at the clubs that the priority should be maximising playing and development opportunities for young players following the loss of the bulk of the 2020 season as a result of the Covid-19 pandemic.

In addition, the competition has reverted to Under-19s in 2021 – again, a practical response to the impact of Covid-19, as that has led to the postponement of the reserve grade competition which had been introduced for 2020 and involved the Academy becoming a competition for Under-18s.

Saints Academy fixtures

Sun, May 23 2.00pm London Broncos (h)

Sun, May 30 2.00pm Wigan Warriors (a)

Sat, June 12 12noon Huddersfield Giants (h)

Sat, June 19 12noon Castleford Tigers (h)

Sat, June 26 2.00pm Hull FC (a)

Fri, July 22 7.30pm Bradford Bulls (a)

Sat, July 10 2.00pm Warrington Wolves (a)

Sun July 25 2.00pm Warrington Wolves (a)

Sat, July 31 2.00pm Wakefield Trinity (a)

Sat, Aug 7 2.00pm Newcastle Thunder (h)

Sun, Aug 15 2.00pm London Broncos (a)

Sat Aug 21 12noonWigan Warriors (h)

Sat, Aug 28 12noonHull FC (h)

Sat Sept 4 12noon Bradford Bulls (h)

Sat, Sept 11 12noon Warrington Wolves (h)

Sat, Sept 18 12noon Wakefield Trinity (h)

Sun, Sept 26 2.00pmNewcastle Thunder (a)