New monthly Super league awards launched

Super League has announced a new series of monthly awards will honour the efforts of players, coaches and fans throughout the season.

Friday, 2nd April 2021, 12:01 pm
Updated Friday, 2nd April 2021, 12:02 pm
Jodie Cunningham will be on the voting panel for Super League player of the month. Picture: SWPix

The awards will be split into four categories of Player of the Month, Betfred Coach of the Month, Northern Try of the Month and Dacia Community Hero of the Month, with fans being offered the opportunity to vote or nominate in each category.

The voting periods of awards will be split evenly across the regular season, coming after four matches of each month, with the exception of August when they will be awarded after five.

Player of the month will see a four-person panel of media representatives - including Sky Sports reporter Jenna Brooks - former Super League winner Leon Pryce and Women's Super League star Jodie Cunningham vote on a short-list of eight.

Fans will be able to vote on the same short-list, too, with the nominee who finishes top of that poll being added to the votes of the panel to determine the overall winner.

A nine-person panel of media representatives will vote on their choice for Coach of the Month, with a fans' vote feeding into that accolade as well.

Try of the Month will be decided entirely by a fans' vote from a short-list of eight via Super League's digital channels.

Meanwhile, the Community Hero award will see Super League and Rugby League Cares come together to honour those fans who have gone the extra mile in their communities.

Nominations will be able to be made via Super League's social media accounts using the #SLHero hashtag along with a description of what they have done, with RLC's head of welfare Steve McCormack picking the winner.

The winners of the April awards will be voted on and announced following round four of the season.

Player of the Month voting panel: Jenna Brooks (Sky Sports), Dave Woods (BBC), Leon Pryce, Jodie Cunningham.

Coach of the Month voting panel: Mark Wilson (talkSPORT), Gareth Walker (The Mirror), Julie Stott (Daily Star), Aaron Bower (The Guardian), Gary Carter (The Sun), Ian Laybourn (Press Association), Matt Shaw (Rugby League Live), Marc Bazeley (Sky Sports), Matt Newsum (BBC).