Powell shines in Worrall Cup

editorial image
Share this article

WEST Park and Bowling Green contested the Tom Worrall Cup Final in an enthralling end to end game which epitomised everything football has to offer - goal line clearances, last ditch saves and the woodwork struck several times.

West Park started the game well and opened an early lead, but the division one champions pegged them back on two occasions going into half time.

After 90 minutes the game was tied at 3-3 and remained the same after extra time, with the game going to penalties. West Park held their nerve to go on to lift the Tom Worrall Cup in their first season in the Combination.

Connor Powell took the man of the match for an outstanding game for West Park.

On Friday, May 24 the DH Griffith Cup Final between New Street FC and Bold Rangers FC took place at Sutton High. County and Hospital Cup Champions New Street were hoping to end the season with three cups.

Bold started the game well and took an early lead but were pegged back to 1-1 at half time.

Midway through the second half two quick goals by New Street opened up a 3-1 lead only for Bold to reply to 3-2, in a last ditch 10 minutes Bold through everything in to get the equaliser but last ditch defending and missed chances meant New Street held onto to lift the DH Griffith Cup.

Skipper Gary Kenny took the man of the match award for New Street following an outstanding game.

The win gave New Street a treble of cups for the season and with the Reserves being Division Two champions gave the club an impressive array of silverware for the season.

On Saturday, May 18, the remaining League games took place with a winner takes all game at Parr Stocks; Diamonds and New Street pitted their wits against each other with the winner set to be crowned Premier Division Champions.

In a humdinger of a game Diamonds took the lead with a well taken effort too which New Street replied to level up the scores. With not long left in the game Diamonds took the lead to which they never relinquished to take the game 2-1 and went onto to become Premier Division Champions.

The Leagues Annual Presentation takes place on June 17 at Greenalls Social club where all league awards will be presented.

The League is open for any new teams to apply for the new season all enquiries to League Secretary Robert Deakin 4 Scott Avenue St Helens WA9 4AN. 01744 851406 or email robertdeakin1@hotmail.co.uk