Jonny’s in seventh heaven

Jonny Lomax scores
Jonny Lomax scores
Share this article

SAINTS have unveiled their squad numbers for the 2012 engage Super League season.

New recruits Lance Hohaia, Anthony Laffranchi and Mark Flanagan will wear the No.6, 14, and 15 jerseys respectively, while Jonny Lomax will pull on the iconic No.7 shirt following the departure of Kyle Eastmond to rugby union, and Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook will be handed Aussie-bound James Graham’s No.10 top.

Full squad and numbers: 1 Paul Wellens, 2 Ade Gardner, 3 Michael Shenton, 4 Sia Soliola, 5 Francis Meli, 6 Lance Hohaia, 7 Jonny Lomax, 8 Josh Perry, 9 James Roby, 10 Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook, 11 Tony Puletua, 12 Jon Wilkin, 13 Chris Flannery, 14 Anthony Laffrinchi, 15 Mark Flanagan, 16 Paul Clough, 17 Gary Wheeler, 18 Shaun Magennis, 19 Andrew Dixon, 20 Lee Gaskell, 21 Tom Makinson, 22 Jamie Foster, 23 Scott Hale, 24 Nathan Ashe, 25 Carl Forster, 26 Josh Jones, 27 Danny Jones, 28 Joe Greenwood, 29 Anthony Walker, 30 Jordan Hand.

Chairman Eamonn McManus said: “This is a squad which can excite fans and compete for silverware in equal measure.

“It will grace Langtree Park, and I believe the new season is going to be sensational for all our followers.

“The squads composition is testament to our youth development and international-class players, which it is producing year on year. This is the aspect which gives us pride and satisfaction.

“And let’s look to top it all with trophy success, in what will be an historic season for the club.”

n THE deadline to purchase early-bird season tickets for Saints’ first season in their new Langtree Park home is looming on the horizon.

Great value offers are still available, but fans are reminded that they have only until next Wednesday, November 30, to snap up bargain buys.

Further details are available by logging on to, telephoning 01744 455052, or visiting the club’s town centre outlet in the Brownlow Arcade.

n MAJOR winners in week No.3 of the Saints Lottery were: Mr A Walsh, of Garswood (£1,000), Mrs Hitchmough, of St Helens (£200), Mrs Eaves, of Haydock, and F Lohel, of Rainford (£100), B Rose, of Nutgrove, and Mrs J Mooney, of Sutton Leach (£50).