Four Saints youngsters selected in England squad to face Australian Schoolboys

Tom Nisbet
Tom Nisbet
Share this article

Four of Saints' young guns have been named in England Academy’s 22-man squad for the two-match series against the Australian Schoolboys which begins at Leigh Sports Village this Saturday afternoon (2pm kick-off).

Jack Welsby, Jake Wingfield, Josh Simm and Tom Nisbet have all been selected to represent their country

Head coach Dave Elliott said: “Games against the Australian Schoolboys are always special, and we’re all really looking forward to what’s coming up in the next couple of weeks.

“The Aussies are a strong, athletic and talented group, as always. But Yorkshire and Lancashire both acquitted themselves really well in their games against the Australians in the last week or so and I’m excited about the talent and the ability we’ve got in our England squad.

“It’s always exciting to bring together a group of lads from different clubs – that experience alone makes Academy internationals like this really valuable in terms of the different experience it provides.”

Dave also sent his best wishes to Joe Sharratt, who could have been in line for a call-up:

"Joe is a popular and respected lad among the group who was exemplary in everything he did with the Lancashire squad last week and he was a key figure in their team performing so well
against the Australians.

“We’re all thinking of him, and I’d like to send our best wishes on behalf of the whole squad and everyone else at the Rugby Football League to Joe and his family."

England Academy squad:: Ben Davies (Widnes Vikings), Cameron Scott (City of Hull Academy), Corey Johnson (Leeds Rhinos), Callum McLelland (Leeds Rhinos), Ethan Havard (Wigan Warriors), Harry Newman (Leeds Rhinos), Harry Smith (Wigan Warriors), Innes Senior (Huddersfield Giants), Muzzi Mustapha (Leeds Rhinos), Jack Welsby (St Helens), Jake Wingfield (St Helens), James McDonnell (Wigan Warriors), Joe Shorrocks (Wigan Warriors), Josh Simm (St Helens), Louis McConnell (Leeds Rhinos), Louis Senior (Huddersfield Giants), Morgan Smithies (Wigan Warriors), Oliver Wilson (Bradford Bulls), Owen Trout (Leeds Rhinos), Sam Walters (Widnes Vikings), Tom Holroyd (Leeds Rhinos), Tom Nisbet (St Helens).