Sports clubs honoured with awards

Award winners with the Mayor and Mayoress
Award winners with the Mayor and Mayoress
Share this article

St Helens sports clubs were honoured for their work in the community at an awards ceremony at the town hall.

The St Helens District Sports Council Awards were handed out by the Mayor and Mayoress of St Helens, Couns Steve and Lynn Glover, with football, hockey and triathlon clubs among those getting prizes.

Sutton Leisure Centre-based Prescot Hockey Club was crowned Club of the Year, fending off competition from Seneley and Garswood JFC and St Helens Tri Club, while club member Gordon Worrall was honoured with a lifetime Achievement award.

John McKiernan was awarded volunteer of the year for his work at St Helens Town AFC and the club also received coach of the year with Alan Gillespie winning.

The other awards went to Chloe Richardson of St Helens Girls RL, who was named young volunteer of the year for the impact her work has had on the local community, and synchronised swimmer Millicent Costello who was crowned young sportsperson of the year.

Mayor of St Helens Coun Steve Glover said: “It really is incredible the positive impact that sports can have on someone’s life. I’d like to congratulate every person and club nominated for these awards. They deserve special praise for the contribution they have on society.”

For more information on St Helens District Sports Council, visit