Council leader unveils his new cabinet

St Helens Town Hall
St Helens Town Hall
Share this article

Council leader Barrie Grunewald has unveiled his new cabinet for the forthcoming year - and insisted his tenure in office would continue to focus on strong economic growth.

However, he also insisted the council would maintain it commitment to its residents and its changing role in the region, a nod to the creation a Greater Liverpool partnership.

Coun Marlene Quinn

Coun Marlene Quinn

And he said residents and how policies impact on them would be at the heart of every decision the council made.

A new community safety portfolio strengthens the council’s commitment to safeguarding its residents.

But change is also the underlying theme of the new leadership team – with Coun Grunewald creating new roles to oversee its own new ways of working as well as its new place in the Liverpool City Region.

“Whether we like it or not, change is inevitable,” said Coun Grunewald, “and we must be prepared for it.

Coun Jeanette Bell

Coun Jeanette Bell

“One thing that won’t change however, is our total commitment to helping those people who, through no fault of their own, need the help that only we can provide.

“We will continue to make sure we meet all the challenges of the future head-on, but we will also be working closely with other bodies and partners to deliver the best possible services for the people of St Helens.”

The new cabinet

Councillor Barrie Grunewald

Coun Lisa Preston

Coun Lisa Preston

Leader of the Council – and with responsibility for:

Audit and Governance Committee

Budget and Policy Framework LCR Combined Authority

European Initiatives

Coun Anthony Burns

Coun Anthony Burns

Press and Public Relations


Councillor Andy Bowden

Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Children, Families, Young People and Education with responsibility for:

Children’s Safeguarding

Children’s Social Care

Coun Richard McCauley

Coun Richard McCauley

Early Years Development

Family Support


Councillor Anthony Johnson

Cabinet Member for Corporate Services with responsibility for:

Corporate Governance

Budget Implementation

Finance Services, Local Taxation and Benefits

Human Resources

Legal Services

ICT and Customer Services

Civic Events


Councillor John Fulham

Cabinet Member for Growth with responsibility for:

Asset Management

Planning and Building Control

Corporate Events


Housing and Transport Policy

Councillor Seve Gomez-Aspron

Cabinet Member for Green, Smart & Sustainable Borough with responsibility for:


Environmental Health

Trading Standards

The Environment


Sport and Recreation

Licencing and Land Charges

Trading Services

Councillor Marlene Quinn

Cabinet Member for Adult Social Care & Health with responsibility for:

Adult Safeguarding

Care Management

Services for Physical, Sensory, Learning Disability, Mental Health, Memory

and Cognitive Support

Health Service Liaison

Councillor Jeanie Bell

Cabinet Member for Public Health & Wellbeing with responsibility for:

Accidental Injury Protection

Illness Prevention Strategy and Services

Health Inequalities

Healthy Child and Immunisation Programmes

Libraries, Arts and Culture

Youth and Play

Councillor Lisa Preston

Cabinet Member for Community Safety with responsibility for:

Community Safety

Housing Services

Councillor Anthony Burns

Cabinet Member for Liverpool City Region Engagement with responsibility for:

Council Response to the LCR Agenda

City Region Liaison

Councillor Richard McCauley

Cabinet Member for Change with responsibility for:

2020 Vision

Change Management

Project Co-Ordination

Other appointments include:

City Region Combined Authority: Coun Grunewald, Coun Bowden


Combined Authority Merseytravel Committee: Coun Roberts, Coun Shields

Combined Authority Scrutiny Panel: Coun Baines, Coun Jackson

Combined Authority Housing and Spatial Planning Board: Coun Fulham

Combined Authority Employment and Skills Board: Coun Fulham, Coun McCauley (Substitute)

Merseyside Fire and Rescue Authority: Coun De’Asha, Coun Maloney

Merseyside Police and Crime Panel: Coun Ireland, Coun Charlton

Merseyside Recycling and Waste Authority: Coun Cunliffe

Local Enterprise Partnership: Coun Grunewald

Council leader Barrie Grunewald

Council leader Barrie Grunewald

Deputy council leader Andy Bowden

Deputy council leader Andy Bowden

Coun Anthony Johnson

Coun Anthony Johnson

Coun John Fulham

Coun John Fulham

Coun Seve Gomez Aspron

Coun Seve Gomez Aspron